Congrats To All The Winners!

ENR Texas & Louisiana Announces 2019 Best Projects Winners

Gathering Place, Tulsa. Riverside Drive, one of Tulsa’s most accessed thoroughfares that connects the downtown area with the rest of the city, ran through the park’s overall acreage. This aerial view showcases the answer to accommodating vehicle traffic and simultaneously connecting the park’s landscape. The Boathouse is also visible in the background.

Photo by Joey Johnson

ENR Texas & Louisiana is proud to announce the winners of our 2019 Best Projects competition!

We received 132 entries into this year’s contest, and our panel of judges selected just 17 Best Projects and 17 Awards of Merit across 18 categories.

Our independent panel of jurors come from all corners of the A/E/C community, and over the last month have reviewed all submitted entries and scored each one according to each of the six judging criteria submitted. Judges recuse themselves in any cases of conflict of interest.

This year’s judges follow below in alphabetical order by last name:

  • Dana Birkes, Vice President, Business Strategies, Crossland Construction
  • Drew Dudley, Manager and Principal, Dudley Engineering LLC
  • Meloni McDaniel, President and CEO, TEXO
  • Natalie Pagano, Marketing and Communications Manager, Manhattan Construction Co.
  • Steve Penson, Vice President, Austin Commercial
  • Thomas Sofranko, Professor, LSU School of Architecture, and Associate Dean, LSU College of Art + Design

Coming Up

Our panel of judges has narrowed down three finalists for ENR Texas & Louisiana’s 2019 Project of the Year—the winner will be announced at our Best Projects event in October.

ENR Texas & Louisiana’s annual Excellence in Safety award winners will be announced in the coming weeks as well.

All winning project teams — as well as our Owner of the Year, Design Firm of the Year, Contractor of the Year, Specialty Contractor of the Year and Legacy Award winner — will be celebrated in Houston on October 29 at the JW Marriott Houston. Click here to register for the event!

Congratulations to all our winners!


Best Project

Ellington Airport Air Traffic Control Tower (ATCT) and Utility Building


Submitted by Clark Construction Group LLC

Award of Merit

Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport Terminal B Commuter Rail Station

DFW Airport

Submitted by Archer Western Construction, LLC


Best Project

Annunciation Greek Orthodox Cathedral


Submitted by Satterfield & Pontikes Construction

Award of Merit

Sydney and Walda Sculpture Garden Expansion at the New Orleans Museum of Art

New Orleans

Submitted by Palmisano


Best Project

Terrebonne to Bayou Vista Transmission Upgrade

Houma, La.

Submitted by Burns & McDonnell

Award of Merit

Stella Wind Farm

Armstrong, Texas

Submitted by IEA Constructors

Government/Public Building

Best Project

Laredo 1 & 2 Ports of Entry

Laredo, Texas

Submitted by Brasfield & Gorrie LLC

Award of Merit

Harris County Emergency Services District 9 Four Cy-Fair Fire Stations


Submitted by JE Dunn Construction

Award of Merit

Harris County Joint County/City Processing Center


Submitted by Clark/Horizon, A Joint Venture

Health Care

Best Project

Houston Methodist Hospital – Walter Tower


Submitted by Jacobs Project Management Company

Award of Merit

Medical City Dallas Women’s and Children’s Hospital Expansion


Submitted by Brasfield & Gorrie

Higher Education/Research

Best Project

Texas A&M University Higher Education Center at McAllen

McAllen, Texas

Submitted by BE&K Building Group

For Full list: